Indspire Awards in Calgary to honour Canada’s top Indigenous achievers

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Cindy Stephen
Calgary Herald

There are 12 First Nations, Inuit and Métis award recipients this year, including Albertans Barbara Todd Hager, a writer, producer and director originally from the St. Paul des Métis Settlement, located 200 kilometres northeast of Edmonton, and Billy-Ray Belcourt, an award-winning poet from the Driftpile Cree Nation, about 325 kilometres northwest of Edmonton.

Formerly the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards, the 26th instalment of the awards ceremony will be held on Feb. 22 at the Jubilee Auditorium in Calgary. The evening will showcase the diversity of Indigenous people and recognize the tremendous contributions they’re making to Canada. 

Latest Opportunities


Hailika’as Heiltsuk Health Centre Society
Hailika’as Heiltsuk Health Centre Society
June 2, 2020

Lead Teacher

Dzawada’enuxw First Nation
June 2, 2020

Accounting Technician

Nanoose First Nation
Snaw-Naw-As (Nanoose First Nation)
June 1, 2020